The commune of Bonvicino is made of a bunch of houses gathered round the parish church, an ancient stone chapel, some farms on the hills around, and the little village of Lovera.
The town is built between Dogliani and the Bossola mountain pass, on the side of a hill, over the long and wild valley of the Rea river, rich of woods, vineyards and some orchards.
As in every town in the Langhe, during the patronal fair – in this case dedicated to san Giacomo, at the end of July – there are many occasions for playing and having fun.
Recently, a path has been made – called the Path of the Resistance-, that is not only a pleasant walk and a way to discover this wonderful natural environment, but also a way of rediscovering a very important historical moment.
The town’s name’s etymology is very curious: according to old stories, it was called this way because during the plague of 1630 its people helped the sick in Belvedere, and were then called “bonus vicinus” (good neighbours).
In 1500 the Ugonotti found shelter there, but were later thrown away by the soldiers from the nearby castle of saint Benedict, because believed to be enemies of the faith.